Toxic Waste Candy Review 8/10

If there’s something I wish there was more of in the candy world, it would be creative packaging and more of an emphasis on the “experience.” Yes, eating a Reese’s peanut butter cup is delicious, and I wouldn’t turn it down, but I think there’s been too much of a detach from the novelty. Maybe it’s old school, but I think there’s a lot to be said about nostalgia candy, because I appreciate the way things used to be done.

All of this said, I was extremely excited to review some products from Toxic Waste Candy, because they represent what I’d like to see more of, with the “experience.” The whole notion of sour candy, the toxic waste barrel, and sticking to the theme is something I can get behind.

Because they sent me a few different items, I’m going to review them one by one.

First off was the toxic waste slime licker, sour rolling liquid candy. This candy can best be described as resembling a roll on deodorant in how it works. To be honest, it’s less of an analogy and more of a pure definition, because the container appears to be the same as a roll on deodorant. The only problem this can pose is that it might be hard to continue getting the liquid out when the amount left starts to run out. Aside from that, I really like the flavors, both Blue Razz and Strawberry.

IMG_0572IMG_0573

Blue Razz is hard to describe as anything other than the name – blue razz. It has a distinct taste that you would recognize if you tried it. Strawberry was less sour, and more plain strawberry, but almost a weak flavor. I don’t mean that in a bad way, because in the end I was happy with both flavors.

Next up was the Sour Smog Balls. These candies, as the package describes, are crunchy on the outside, sour on the inside. The best way I can explain them is that they’re, in both taste and consistency, very similar to smarties (except the sour part). I really like the sour part, so in my opinion these are just spherical smarties with a sour twist, and are all around better.

IMG_0574IMG_0576

Now to the goop gum. I want to emphasize how much I like the novelty behind candy again, because this gum really puts the effort in. With each piece being the shape of a toxic waste barrel, containing a green (toxic waste resembling) liquid, I can’t help but admire the creativity and effort. I was expecting the gum to be sour, but it ended up being a lot more sour than I anticipated. That’s not necessarily a bad thing, but you should be ready for it. Then the taste, which can most accurately be described as similar to juicy fruit, is just great.

IMG_0579IMG_0580

Finally, there’s the toxic waste sour candy. I almost feel bad keeping it short with the description, but I feel like all I have to say is that it’s an improved form of warheads. In taste, sourness, and packaging, all around just better.

IMG_0577IMG_0578

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

