Polaroid Zip Review 10/10

Sometimes there are products that make you say ‘wow,’ and sometimes there are products that make you drop your jaw. Then there’s the extremely rare occasion in which you see a product, and can’t help but smile for a few minutes. Something that amazes you, something you want to share it, something that reminds you how great technology can be. The Polaroid Zip is one of those products that makes you smile.

polaroid zip 1 polaroid zip 2 polaroid zip 3 polaroid zip 4

I’m going to be honest; I was one of those people who found the term Polaroid synonymous with ‘dinosaur.’ I realize how bold of a statement this is, but I think if Polaroid keeps coming out with technologies like this, they could make a serious comeback.

From Facebook, to Instagram, Pinterest, and Snapchat, these days everything seems to revolve around photography. The general consensus these days seems to be that we’ve moved away from the days of print photos, and evolved into purely digital images. The problem I have with this, is the term ‘evolve’ used in this case. I disagree with the notion that having all of your pictures stored online is considered better than when we used to have physical copies.

Don’t get me wrong, there are tons of advantages when it comes digital media, trying to deny that would be insane. There’s proof everywhere, over 500 million tweets are shared each day,4 0 million photos are added to Instagram every day (with 8,500 likes and 1,000 comments per second). In the time it’s taken you to read this far (the average time being 2 minutes) there have been ~82,000 Facebook posts, ~208,000 Snapchats sent, and ~408 million emails sent.

Now that I’ve probably overwhelmed you with shocking statistics, I’m finally getting to my point. With how much technology has advanced, and how prevalent it has become, more than ever there’s a need to step back. I don’t think I even need to get into the parts about how once something (like photo) is shared online, it’s there forever. I think that point has been drilled into everybody’s head (both child and adult) at this point.

With enough back story and explanation, I finally want to get into what I really love about the Polaroid Zip. First of all, there’s no ink, all you need is the special ‘Zero Ink Paper’ and you’re ready to print your photos. This is good news for people like me who are fed-up with high ink prices, and people who have already reverted back to regular Polaroids knowing how expensive the photo paper has become.

Then there’s the portability. This thing is so small it can be brought just about anywhere as long as you’re careful not to drop it, get it wet, get too much dirt or dust in it, etc.

Finally, there’s the speed at which photos are printed and the quality. Even with a poor bluetooth connection, the process of sending the image and printing it never took more than a minute, and at times printed in as little as 15 seconds. Then, not only was the photo quality very good, it somehow seemed better than the original version of the photo on the phone itself.

As far as the learning how to use this thing, there’s almost no setup required, and I can’t see anybody having trouble with any part of the process.

The more we advance, the more there seems to be a want to revert somewhat backward. Maybe it’s nostalgia, or maybe it’s because the things we improved never really needed improving. Whatever it may be there’s just something about the Polaroid Zip that makes it great. I loved this product, and I can’t express that enough. I hope it catches on, and I don’t see why it wouldn’t, as long as people start hearing about it. I know I’ll be telling everybody I know.

You can find it on Amazon here.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

