Hanzeek Ceramic Knife Set 5/10

You would think that with the amount times I’ve heard the phrase ‘don’t judge a book by its cover’ I would have learned by now. I’m not too proud to admit that once again I fell into the trap, and once again I was wrong, I incorrectly judged these knives based on a pre-determined judgement.

hanzeek knife set

I know that there are plenty of knives that have the gimmick along the lines of being able to cut through paper with ease, or slice raw steak as if it was butter. I also know that there are knives that cost upwards of a few hundred dollars, and if you really want something fancy from a good brand there’s certainly a market for it. Then there are these knives, which fall into a category of their own, but to say they impressed me would be an understatement.

The idea of a ceramic knife was something I approached skeptically, as I’ve had plenty of meta knives that were unable to cut through anything easily and wore out extremely quickly. The more I think about it, I should have invested in a better knife set earlier, but that’s besides the point.

As usual, I like to start off my actual review portion with a description of how the product looks. With this knife set, it’s important to know what you’re buying and how if would fit in with your home, which should be easy to tell. The bright side is that with a set like this, the unique design can either perfectly fit a traditional kitchen, or a more modern one depending on the colors. If you buy a set with multi-color blades (the handles are different colors) it would go great in a traditional kitchen, it’s really a nice piece. If you buy the set with all black handles, it would fit in really nicely in a modern style kitchen. So to be honest, the style part is great in two senses. One, it has a very cool unique design, and two it can fit into most kitchens.

Now to get to the functionality portion of the review, I think the most appropriate way to describe this set is simply ‘wow.’ Not only did these knives do more than I expected, they blew my mind (which is a lot to say for a knife set). The first this I did to test the sharpness was cut a piece of cooked chicken. The chicken cut with ease, as did the raw steak which I tested next.

The only downside to these knives is honestly that you need to be careful because it’s easy to underestimate how sharp they really are. I used the knives to cut through a case of water, and not only did it slice through the plastic with ease, it cut through four of the bottles without my noticing (or being slowed down with my cutting motion at all).

These knives really exceeded my expectations and then some, I would definitely recommend them, and for the extremely reasonable price of ~$35 it’s hard to turn them down. You can find them on Amazon here.

EDIT: the knives dulled after a few uses, and one broke completely. I’ve changed the review from 9/10 to 5/10

Categories: ceramic, cheap, good, hanzeek, knife, knife set, knives, sharp | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

