Polaris V8 Speaker 7/10

Being a follow up to a previous review I did, of the Polaris Palm Beats compact speaker, I think if there’s one thing I’ve noticed, it’s that Polaris makes great speakers.

polaris v8 1 polaris v8 2

I wasn’t sure how to feel about the design of these speakers, and that’s one of the big things that’s going to take away from my final rating. My first instinct was that it was a pretty cool look and a pattern on top that I really liked (you’ll see it in pictures). As I used it and looked at it more, however, I began to dislike the design more and more. While the top has a cool pattern, it makes the buttons hard to see which is a pain (especially when using it outside in the sun). It’s also almost as if the speaker is trying to be slim and compact, which is hard with how long, tall, wide, and heavy it is. So that really took away from my final opinion.

The sound quality on the device is great, however I did have a bit of trouble when trying to play music from my laptop. I will most likely never use a bluetooth speaker with my laptop, simply because there’s really no need to when everybody has a phone, but it should be addressed anyway. I played the speaker at low, mid, and high volumes from iPhone devices, Android devices, and Windows devices, each with great sound. When connecting to a Macbook Air, however, the sound was fuzzy even at low.

Before I get into the specifics, I want to make a quick point to mention the removable battery. Most of the time with bluetooth speakers it runs for a certain time, and once it dies you need to charge it before using it again (which can easily become a pain). With the V8, however, there’s a battery backup, so as long as you bring a backup battery you’ll probably never run into the problem of needing to plug it in to make it last a full day (as the speaker expected my expectations with an ~12 hour run time with the battery). If you need a speaker that lasts more than 12 hours I suggest buying an external battery, finding one that’s designed specifically to last that long, or to refrain from listening to music from such extended periods of time (though I can’t blame you).

Even though this review was riddled with mixed feelings regarding how great the added features and run time were, too my not being impressed by the design or how the speaker connects to some devices, my final takeaway is that I would still recommend it. Like I’ve said, Polaris makes great speakers, and honestly I think one of the reasons this speaker lost a lot of points is because it’s hard to follow up my last Polaris speaker review (of the Palm Beats Speaker). So if you’re looking for a mid-sized, mid-priced speaker, this is definitely a good choice.

You can find one for sale on Amazon here.

Categories: Electronics | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

